Non classifié(e)

The Society Archipelago in French Polynesia is often the first image that comes to mind when the South Seas are mentioned, captivating the imagination of sailors around the world. These islands stretch approximately 400 nautical miles west-northwest and are divided into two main groups for administrative reasons.

The southeastern group, known as the Windward Islands, includes Meetia, Tahiti, Moorea, Tetiaroa and Mai’ao.

As for the northwest group, the Leeward Islands, it is made up of Huahine, Raiatea, Tahaa, Bora Bora, Maupiti, Tupai, Maupihaa, Manuae and Motu One.

With the exception of Tetiaroa and a few small western islands, the majority of these islands are volcanic in nature, rising proudly above the ocean and surrounded by coral reefs.

These islands, among the largest in the South Seas, benefit from an exceptional climate and have long been a favorite stopover for those wishing to explore the Pacific, including Polynesian peoples. They are located in the trade wind zone, with prevailing winds coming from the southeast, called “Mara’amu”, and from the east.

The trade winds are particularly present during the winter months, from July to September. Visibility is generally excellent, except in cases of rain. Near mountainous islands, winds can be erratic and change direction frequently. Land and sea breezes are more marked, and the leeward side of the islands can experience periods of calm, interspersed with variable wind gusts.